Sugar free, Week Seven.

I have felt so much more freedom since allowing fruit back into my tum. I’m finally able to eat out again -and I have been certainly pulling on that luxury. I had three meals in a row at Lentil as Anything, but if you have been there in Melbourne then you will understand..

My housemates, a Chilean traveler & I rode to Lentils to meet up with some friends. It was such a gorgeous ride along a majestic river that I had no idea existed. Many hills later, and after some breathtaking scenery (I thought we lived in the middle of the city) we arrived at our destination.
An unordered chai turned up at our table while we were having breakfast, and since no one was interested I took it upon myself to have a sip. And I’m so glad I did. It showed me how far I have come because it tasted so sickly sweet to me, that I easily gave up on it after a mouthful or two. Mind you,  I was heavily debating with myself moments before about whether I should order a chai, as the cravings were well and truly there but I knew it was made with a sugar syrup.

As insignificant as this may seem, it is a huge milestone for me. It also shows me that I don’t need to have an internal battle and resist everything with sugar because if I try a little, I will probably be turned off it anyway. And will feel quite impressed afterwards.
The night before I could literally taste the sugar in my burger bun -I could never do that before. IMG_6204
I made an interesting smoothie bowl this morning. The colour wasn’t terribly appealing but I have been drinking grey smoothies since high school, so it didn’t put me off.
It had:
-coconut water
-chia seeds
-boysenberries
-turmeric
-maca powder
-bee pollen
-banana
-hemp protein
-slippery elm
And from the garden:
-kale
-parsley
-lemon balm mint

Then on top was almonds, pepitas, sunflower seeds, muesli & a sliced strawberry.

It has been interesting watching youtube videos this week. I have come across some vegan channels where people are eating smoothies with 4 or 5 bananas in it of a morning, and someone saying the people in Kenya can live off corn so there is no need to eat meat.
It is so amazing how we all have different views on what health is -and to be honest, no one is right or wrong. We are all unique, complex individuals and we need to find out what works for each of us. There is no need to push values or ideals onto anyone else. There are so many other things to factor in than just the food that goes into our body. I hope we can all start to learn about and embrace our own uniqueness and find out what contributes to living our bliss.

It is a little while away yet, but I am starting to get prepared for living a SOULFUL SEPTEMBER. I want to live my perfect lifestyle, every day for a month and see how I feel during and afterwards. It is funny how much preparation and planning I am needing to put in, as you would think I would be living like this by choice anyway. But there are so many strange sabotaging energies in all of us. I’m getting ready to show myself what my life can really be. I will be sure to write about it when it comes up, and I hope some of you can join me.

3 thoughts on “Sugar free, Week Seven.

Leave a Reply

