Prickly Pear Custard mini-Tarts (Sugar Free, Wheat Free)

Welcome fellow sugar free and non-sugar free friends, I have a treat for you.
Some of you know might know that as of yesterday, I am allowed fruit back in my life and it couldn’t have come soon enough. I actually made these the night before in anticipation for the fruity celebrations.

pricklypearcactus
It’s a bit peculiar for me to write out the measurements because I’m one of those people who make up my own recipes and keep adding things until it tastes right. Plus it all depends on personal preference, right? On that note, here we go.

Ingredients:

For custard filling:
2 Eggs + 1 extra yolk
Full cream milk
Dextrose (powdered gulcose)
Vanilla
Prickly pear powder
Beetroot powder (for colour)
Arrowroot powder (to thicken)
Fresh pear

For Pastry:
Oat meal
Desiccated coconut
Rice Flour
Dextrose
Butter
Milk
Vanilla essence or powder or bean -Whatever you want!

PASTRY: Chop up the butter into small chunks and using an electric beater, mix with equal amounts of oat meal, coconut and rice flour.
Add in as much dextrose as you deem fit and a dash of vanilla, then just keep on beating. Because dextrose soaks up more liquid than regular sugar does, add in some milk or water as needed. Yum. It already tastes good.
Mush the pastry evenly into a greased muffin tray and pop in the oven at 180 degrees while you move on to the custardy goodness that awaits.

CUSTARD: Now if you already know how to make custard, you are one step in front of me. As this was my first time, I sort of followed a general recipe, but its more fun to eyeball it.
Throw the eggs, 1.5 cups of milk, 2 tablespoons of dextrose, splash of vanilla and three teaspoons of prickly pear powder into a saucepan and stir or beat well until all the ingredients are nicely combined.
Then pop on the stove and stir continuously until it starts to thicken.
You may need to employ a kitchen helper to give you some relief here. To thicken the custard faster, dissolve arrowroot powder into some water and add as required.
Dissolve some beet powder in some water for its beautiful colour and add until you get the prettiest, girliest pink in existence.
Once this had thickened up nicely, pour into the pre-cooked pastry shells and decorate with finely sliced pear. Then back in the oven it goes until the pear is a little bit cooked and your best judgment tells you they are done.

Your done! Eat them hot or pop them in the fridge for a few hours to cool down.
I made a whole heap of these and all my friends who tried them absolutely loved them, as did I.  This might be a regular in my kitchen now.

IMG_6083
I ended up making some larger sized tarts as well and added a lot more sliced pear to them. I whisked up the remaining egg white and made a meringue for the top too. -Which I can thoroughly recommend.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

prickly-pear-cactus

IMG_6110

Leave a Reply

