The glorious, rocky and windy road of love.

Relationships. Why can’t we be more real about them. I don’t know about you, but when I have a fight or problem with my significant other, I try to hide it from the rest of the world. I don’t want to feel like I’m failing at the relationship by anyone else’s standards. I know every couple has ups and downs but it’s hidden from me and I also hide it from others.
It’s isolating. I withdraw.

Where does this pride and stealth come from? Why do I have to see myself having the fairytale relationship? Sure, most of the time it is lovely and is the best and most supportive thing that has ever happened to me. But sometimes it isn’t. Sometimes we have our differences and I also need to be real about that. It is okay.

The reality is, we are all separate beings with differing sets of beliefs, morals and ideals, which is no different for couples.

No couple is ‘perfect’ no matter how they portray themselves to the outside. I would like this to feel more normal. It is not a failure to have differences or argue about things. As long as we can find compassion and understanding, there’s no need to feel ashamed. Who feels me?

One thought on “The glorious, rocky and windy road of love.

Leave a Reply

